Menu
Search

What Happens if You Receive Multiple DUI Charges?

Home
/
Car Accidents
/
What Happens if You Receive Multiple DUI Charges?

What Happens if You Receive Multiple DUI Charges?

Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) once is scary. If you are charged a second time, the penalties become even harsher. If you are charged a third time, the consequences are harsher still. If you are facing multiple DUI charges, you are right to be concerned about your future. It is crucial that you speak to a Missouri criminal defense lawyer who can protect your rights and give you the best chance of beating the charges.

What Happens After Your First DUI?

One of the first things to happen after a police officer pulls you over for a DUI is that they will take your driver’s license. They will give you a permit and when that permit expires, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 30 days. You will then have to use a restricted license for the next 60 days, although in some cases you can install an ignition interlock device instead.

Possible jail time for a first DUI conviction is up to six months. In many cases, people do not spend any time in jail after a DUI. However, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was greater than 0.15%, you will have to spend at least 48 hours in jail. If your BAC was greater than 0.2%, you will have to spend at least five days in jail. After a conviction for a first DUI, you will have to pay a maximum fine of $500 and may be placed on probation.

What Happens After a Second DUI?

If your first DUI occurred over five years ago, your second DUI is treated like your first. The driver’s license suspension is extended, though, to one year. If your first DUI was within the past five years, you will face up to one year in jail, a maximum fine of $1,000 and a license revocation of one to five years. You will also probably be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

What Happens After a Third DUI?

After a third DUI, you will be charged with a felony. The penalties if convicted include up to four years in jail, a maximum fine of $5,000, and a driver’s license revocation of 10 years. You may also be ordered to perform community service and will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

What Happens After a Fourth DUI?

After being convicted of a fourth DUI, you will be considered an “aggravated offender.” Your driver’s license will be revoked for at least another ten years. You will also face up to seven years in jail and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Our Criminal Defense Lawyer in Missouri Can Help You Beat Your Charges

Being convicted of multiple DUIs is a very serious thing. Scott A. Hamblin is a Missouri criminal defense lawyer who can build the strong case you need to help you beat the charges, and avoid serious penalties. Call us today or contact us online to schedule a consultation and to learn more.

Share this post :

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation

Attorney

Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

atry-image
Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

Call Now Button