The Missouri Department of Revenue is the state agency with the power to not only issue a driver’s license but also suspend or revoke driving privileges. A person’s license can be suspended for varying periods of time, but such periods of suspension generally range from 30 to 90 days. Revocation of a driver’s license is generally for one year, but the Missouri Department of Revenue may refuse to re-issue a driver’s license for much longer periods of time.
If you are facing a driver’s license suspension, turn to attorney Scott Hamblin. He is an experienced criminal lawyer and a partner in the law firm Brydon, Swearengen & England P.C., with vast experience handling a range of criminal matters for clients in and around the Jefferson City, Missouri area.
Contact Scott today at 573-821-4013 to learn more about your driver’s license suspension case during an initial consultation.
Reasons for Drivers License Suspension
Suspension and revocation of a driver’s license may occur for a variety of reasons, including the following:
- Conviction or guilty plea of the offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI);
- Conviction or guilty plea for felony offenses involving motor vehicles;
- Accumulating points for criminal driving offenses; and
- Administrative order following a probable cause hearing by the Missouri Department of Revenue.
Loss of Driving Privileges for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI/DUI)
Driving privileges may be suspended or revoked for accumulation of points following a plea of guilty or conviction for the criminal offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI). Additionally, driving privileges may also be suspended or revoked by the Missouri Department of Revenue. Scott is familiar with criminal laws and regulations to provide you professional and thorough legal representation. He has elected to share some of his knowledge regarding loss of driving privileges.
- A person who refuses to submit to a chemical blood alcohol test is subject to loss of his or her driving privileges for one year even if arrested for a first offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) or excessive blood alcohol content. A person may be eligible to receive a limited driving privilege after serving 90 days of such revocation. However, a person who has refused to submit to a chemical blood alcohol test on more than one occasion may be ineligible for a limited driving privilege.
- A person dealing with a second criminal offense for driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) may be subject to loss of driving privileges from one to five years depending on the length of time between the first driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) offense and the second offense. A person who has pled guilty or been convicted of a second alcohol-related criminal offense such as driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) or excessive blood alcohol content within five years of the first offense is subject to a loss of driving privileges for five years. A person may be eligible to receive a limited driving privilege during this time.
- A person facing a third criminal offense for driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) may be subject to a loss of driving privileges from one to 10 years depending on the length of time between the prior driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) offenses and the third offense. A person subject to a 10-year denial of driving privileges may be eligible for a limited driving privilege after serving three years of the period of denial.
Accumulating Points for Criminal Driving Offenses
The Missouri Department of Revenue assesses points to criminal driving offenses following a guilty plea or conviction. Accumulation of points following criminal driving offenses may result in a suspension or revocation of driving privileges. A suspension of driving privileges may be as little as 30 days up to a one year revocation for driving privileges. Scott has represented hundreds of clients for driving-related offenses in successfully avoiding the assessment of points. An inherent danger in simply paying a ticket is that points tend to accumulate so that a person may eventually face mandatory jail time for driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license. While a person might be eligible for a limited driving privilege in certain circumstances, a person’s driver record may render the person ineligible.
Contact a Jefferson City DUI/DWI Defense Attorney
If you have questions or need assistance with any driving offense or any other criminal law matter, contact Scott Hamblin’s law office today online or by telephone at 573-821-4013. He will take the time to fully explain how the criminal “system” works, including criminal procedure, details of the criminal laws relevant to your case, and a realistic idea of what you should expect in your criminal or driving case.