Menu
Search

Jefferson City Drunk Driving Lawyers

Home
/
Jefferson City Drunk Driving Lawyers

Jefferson City Drunk Driving Lawyers

Missouri Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys Representing Clients in Jefferson City

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense in Missouri, and it can result in Class B or Class A misdemeanor charges at a minimum. Depending upon the particular facts of the case, a DWI can be charged as a felony offense and, in some cases, can result in the most serious Class A felony. To be clear, a DWI conviction can result in a jail or prison sentence, not to mention the additional penalties associated with a drunk driving conviction. As such, it is critical to have one of our experienced Jefferson City drunk driving lawyers on your side to help you fight the charges you are facing.

Understanding DWI Charges in Jefferson City, MO

Given that Missouri has higher rates of drunk driving than other states in the country, law enforcement officials take DWI cases extremely seriously, and prosecutors are often eager to move forward with DWI charges. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Missouri has a drunk driving fatality rate of 4.8 per 100,000 population, which is significantly higher than the national average of 3.3 per 100,000 population. In each category, including age groups and by sex or gender, Missouri DWI rates are higher than the national averages.

When can a person face charges for drunk driving or driving while intoxicated? Under Missouri law, a person can face DWI charges if they are aged 21 or over and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. For drivers under the age of 21, Missouri has a “zero tolerance” law, which means that any amount of alcohol consumption is unlawful and can result in charges. Missouri also allows for sobriety checkpoints, which means that you could be stopped and asked to take a breathalyzer even if the police have no reasonable suspicion to stop you.

Implied Consent Laws in Jefferson City

You should know that, by driving in Missouri, you have given implied consent to have your BAC tested. Accordingly, if you refuse a breathalyzer test, you can face serious penalties that include a one-year suspension of your driver’s license.

Consequences for a Jefferson City DWI

 What are the consequences for a DWI conviction? Take a look at the following penalties under Missouri law:

  • For a first-time offense, you will face penalties associated with a class B misdemeanor, which can include up to six months in jail for your first offense and a fine of up to $1,000;
  • For a subsequent offense, or for a person who is convicted of a DWI and has a passenger under the age of 17 in the vehicle at the time of the offense, the person will face penalties for a Class A misdemeanor, which can include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000; and
  • Persistent offenders (with more than one previous conviction) will face penalties for a Class E felony, which can mean up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

When a DWI also results in bodily injury or death to another person, depending upon the defendant’s criminal history, that person can face penalties for serious felony offenses, from a class D up to a class A felony.

Contact Our DWI Defense Lawyers in Jefferson City

Do you need assistance building a defense against DWI charges? Our Jefferson City drunk driving defense lawyers can assist you. Contact Scott A. Hamblin today.

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation

Attorney

Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

atry-image
Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

Call Now Button