*Please note that a 3% processing fee will be added to credit card payments
Schedule A Consultation



Fulton DWI Lawyer

Fulton DWI Lawyer

Fulton DWI Lawyer

One area of law that is continuously evolving is regarding driving while intoxicated, or DWI. This is otherwise referred to as driving under the influence, or DUI. These are areas of criminal law that may lead to criminal penalties. In 2018, there were about 12,000 offenders caught for a DWI in Missouri alone. Of those, 240 resulted in a driver fatality. In an effort to protect drivers on the road, Missouri has stringent DWI laws. If you have been convicted of a DWI in Michigan and are looking for representation in court, consider working with an experienced Fulton DWI lawyer

Fulton DWI Laws

DWI laws differ from state to state. In Missouri, the law regarding a DWI depends on whether it’s your first offense or a repeat offense, but all require a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration or higher. For first offenders of DWI cases, it is considered a Class B misdemeanor offense. This means that it isn’t as severe as a felony, but it still results in potential fines, jail time, or both. A maximum of $1000 may be fined for a first offense, as well as up to a six-month jail time. 

A second offense of a DWI is more serious than the first. You may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and incur penalties of up to $2,000. Further, you may be required to serve up to one year in jail or face a combination of both penalties and jail time. Many second-time offenders are also eligible for a two-year probation requiring 250 hours of community service or 10 days in jail. A court-ordered SATOP course, or Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program, may be required as well. Those on probation are expected to remain drug and alcohol-free during the probationary period. 

If after your second-offense DWI you are convicted a third time, you may be charged with a Class D felony. These require 10 days in prison, followed by up to four years of jail time and a maximum fine of $5,000. Probation for a third offense runs between one and two years, but eligibility is based on a required 30-day jail sentence or 480 hours of community service.

 Once found guilty of a DWI three times, you will be considered an aggravated offender and charged under Class C felony offenses or higher for any repeat offenses. After a fourth offense, you will be considered a chronic offender. Both aggravated and chronic offenders face harsher punishments than prior convictions. 

Refusing Chemical Testing in Missouri

In Missouri, there is an implied consent law in place. This means that anybody who is operating a vehicle in Missouri is required to provide samples for chemical testing if there is suspicion of a DWI. Samples may include blood, urine, and breath tests. Refusing these tests may require the suspension of your license. Failing the test with a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration or greater may result in a suspended license for 30 days. If you wish to request an administrative hearing to contest the license suspension, you must do so within 15 days of receiving your Notice of Suspension. A Fulton DWI lawyer can walk you through your administrative hearing and ensure that you are treated justly. 

Hire a Fulton DWI Lawyer

If you have been charged with a DWI in Fulton, Missouri, and are in need of representation, consider hiring an experienced Fulton DWI lawyer. Scott Hamblin is a knowledgeable Missouri attorney and can guide you through the entire DWI hearing process. To review your case today, contact us to schedule a consultation with attorney Scott Hamblin.

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation


Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.