Menu
Search

Cole County Domestic Violence Lawyer

Home
/
Cole County Domestic Violence Lawyer

Cole County Domestic Violence Lawyer 

Missouri Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Serving Clients in Cole County 

When you have been accused of domestic violence, you need to have an experienced Cole County domestic violence lawyer on your side. Although you might assume that the charges will get dropped or that you will be able to beat the charges easily, it is critical to remember that domestic violence offenses are taken extremely seriously in Missouri and can have severe consequences. A domestic violence conviction may result in significant jail time or a term of imprisonment. Even after you have completed the terms of a sentence, having a criminal record with a domestic violence conviction can hurt your chances to have child custody and to share in the joys of raising your children.

Accordingly, you need to fight these charges. Our firm can help.

Understanding Domestic Violence Offenses in Cole County

 Under Missouri law, domestic violence is defined as “abuse or stalking committed by a family or household member,” which can include any of the following parties:

  • Spouses;
  • Former spouses;
  • Persons related by blood;
  • Persons related by marriage;
  • Persons currently residing together in the same household;
  • Persons who previously resided together in the same household;
  • Persons in a continuing romantic or intimate relationship; and
  • Persons who together have a child in common regardless of whether they have ever been married, in a relationship, or resided in the same household.

Domestic violence cases often begin when a petition seeks an order of protection alleging an act of domestic violence such as assault, battery, coercion, harassment, sexual assault, or unlawful imprisonment.

Consequences of Cole County Domestic Violence

The criminal penalties for a domestic violence conviction in Missouri are severe. The following are examples of sentencing ranges for domestic violence offense convictions in the state:

  • Class A misdemeanor charges for domestic assault in the fourth degree, which can result in up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000;
  • Class E felony charges for domestic assault in the third degree, which can result in a sentence of up to four years in prison;
  • Class D felony charges for domestic assault in the second degree, which can result in a sentence of up to seven years in prison; and
  • Class B felony charges for domestic assault in the first degree, which will result in a prison sentence of five to 15 years.

Additional penalties can include limitations on certain forms of employment, eligibility for some forms of credit, and restrictions on child custody if you have minor children from a relationship.

Contact an Experienced Cole County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

 Are you facing charges for domestic violence? You should have one of our aggressive Cole County domestic violence lawyers on your side. Not only can a conviction result in criminal penalties, but your child custody case can be at risk if you have a domestic violence conviction on your record. Our firm can help you to fight these charges and can work to develop a defense strategy that is based on the particular facts of your case. Contact Scott A. Hamblin to learn more about how we can help you.

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation

Attorney

Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

atry-image
Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

Call Now Button