*Please note that a 3% processing fee will be added to credit card payments
Schedule A Consultation



What’s the Punishment for a Missouri DWI?

What’s the Punishment for a Missouri DWI?

What’s the Punishment for a Missouri DWI?

Being charged with a DWI, or driving while intoxicated, is a serious offense. Depending on whether it’s your first offense or you are a repeated offender, your punishment can vary. It’s important to take all charges of DWIs seriously, as failing to recognize the impact that it has on your life can lead to further offenses and increased consequences. To understand your rights as a person convicted of a DWI, consider reaching out to an experienced DWI attorney in Jefferson City.

License Suspension or Revocation

One of the first consequences after sustaining a charge of a Missouri DWI is a license suspension. If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher, you are considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol. For minors under the age of 21, any blood alcohol concentration is subjected to DWI penalties. This is because Missouri has a zero-tolerance law in place. For any of these first-offense situations, your license may be suspended for 30 days, followed by 60 days of restricted driving privileges. This means you may only drive to and from work or court-sponsored programs. Your full privileges should be eligible for reinstatement if you’ve paid a reinstatement fee and have completed a SATOP course. For second offenders and higher, your license may be revoked for five or more years depending on what number of offense you are on. License revocations may also be in place for those that refuse to take a blood alcohol test. 

Fines and Penalties

If charged with a DWI in Missouri, you can expect to be responsible for fines and penalties. The total cost of your fines will vary depending on the number of DWI offenses you’ve accrued. First-time offenders may be required to pay up to $1,000 in penalties. If after your first offense you are charged with a second DWI, your expected fine may be as high as $2,000. Third-offense penalties may cost you up to $5,000. After your third offense, your fines may not exceed $5,000 for repeated offenses. 

Jail Time

Depending on the number of DWI offenses you have on your record, you may or may not be required to submit to jail time. Oftentimes, the court will split jail time and fines or give you either option. In the case of the first offense of a DWI, the person charged may serve up to six months in jail. A second-time offender may serve up to one year in jail, and a third-time offender can face a mandatory 10-day imprisonment followed by up to four years in jail. A fourth offense can land you in jail for one year or at a correctional facility for seven years. Following your third offense comes greater mandatory prison stays of three to ten years, five to fifteen years, and ten to thirty years for the fifth, sixth, and seventh offenses, respectively. 

Hire a Missouri DWI Attorney Today

If you believe you received an unfair punishment for your DWI, it could help to work with a DWI attorney. An experienced lawyer like Scott Hamblin can help review your case and guide you through any potential ways to receive a less harsh punishment. To speak with Scott Hamblin about your DWI punishment in Michigan, contact us today.

Share this post :

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation


Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.