Menu
Search

Understanding Missouri Drug Possession Laws

Home
/
Blog
/
Understanding Missouri Drug Possession Laws

Understanding Missouri Drug Possession Laws

Drug possession is a serious offense in Missouri, and anyone who has been arrested for or charged with any type of drug possession should seek advice from a Missouri drug defense attorney as soon as possible to begin developing a defense strategy. In the meantime, our Missouri criminal defense lawyers want to discuss drug possession laws in the state to help you understand the severity of certain drug crimes and when a person can face particular types of drug charges. The following are several key things you should know about drug possession laws in Missouri.

Drug Possession Offenses Can Result in Misdemeanor or Felony Charges

Drug possession can take different forms in Missouri, from possession of a small amount of marijuana or a controlled substance according to the schedule to the possession of a large quantity of a drug such that the person faces charges for delivery of a controlled substance. Indeed, under Missouri law, you can face charges for the offense of delivery of a controlled substance if you “knowingly possess a controlled substance with the intent to distribute or deliver any amount of a controlled substance.”

Penalties for Drug Possession Crimes are Severe

Accordingly, given the range of drug possession offenses, you can face misdemeanor or felony charges for drug possession, depending upon the particular details of your case. Possession of small amounts of marijuana has been decriminalized in Missouri, which means anyone in possession of less than 10 grams will face a fine. However, a subsequent marijuana offense can result in a Class A misdemeanor. Similarly, possession of anywhere from 10 to 35 grams of marijuana can result in Class A misdemeanor charges even for a first offense, while possession of 35 grams to 30 kg of marijuana will result in Class C felony charges that can include a fine of up to $10,000 and a sentence of up to seven years in prison.

Possession laws for other types of controlled substances listed on the scheduled substances tend to result in charges that are more severe. Possession of a controlled substance is typically charged as a Class D felony in Missouri that can result in up to seven years in prison, even for a first-time offense. A subsequent offense can result in Class C felony charges that can result in a prison sentence of three to 10 years.

Missouri Drug Court Programs and Alternative Sentencing

Even if you cannot beat the charges you are facing, you may be eligible for alternative sentencing through the Drug Court Program in order to avoid jail time for a first-time drug offense. If beating the drug possession charges you are facing seems unlikely, you should seek advice from your Missouri drug crimes defense lawyer who can help you to seek a reduction in charges or to help determine whether you may be eligible for an alternative sentencing option that prevents you from dealing with the serious repercussions of a drug possession conviction.

Seek Advice from a Missouri Drug Possession Defense Attorney

Are you currently facing drug possession charges? Our drug crimes defense lawyers in Missouri can speak with you about potential defense strategies. Contact Scott A. Hamblin today for more information.

Share this post :

He’s On Your Side

Scott will keep you up to date on all important developments in your case. When you need to get in touch with him, he will be there to answer your call or return it promptly.

Schedule a Consultation

Attorney

Scott A. Hamblin

Top-Rated Trial Attorney

What Our Clients Say

atry-image
Your Case in
Capable Hands

Contact Us

For accessible and experienced representation, contact attorney Scott Hamblin today.

Call Now Button